Sewing Skills

2»

Comments

• Cherlynn
    Cherlynn Posts: 169 ✭✭✭

I'm glad I was born in a time schools taught skills like real cooking and sewing classes. I made sure all my kids could sew, cook, do laundry and clean house. I rarely sew clothes any more but I quilt a lot.

• Ruth Ann Reyes
    Ruth Ann Reyes Posts: 577 admin
    edited July 2019

I was born in the early 80's - sort of the tail end of domestic bliss. However, my mother sewed, cooked, and kept house. I learned by not only being assigned chores, like cleaning the bathrooms and putting away laundry, but...by simply watching my mom!

She NEVER gave me a single sewing or a cooking lesson. However, I grew up and was awesome at both! So much so, I went to school for apparel design and cooking is my most favorite hobby! 😍 Taught me to never underestimate the importance of leading by action.

• MissPatricia
    MissPatricia Posts: 318 ✭✭✭

I have been sewing for 60 years, clothing mostly, but other things as well. I was fascinated by the German lady's comment.. I taught two granddaughters to sew. I love to teach.

• Midge
    Midge Posts: 13 ✭✭✭

I always wanted to learn to sew. The closest I can get to sewing is buttons and holes in socks. I put a sewing machine on my wish gift list every year.

• Linda Bittle
    Linda Bittle Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭✭✭

@rainbow I knew a woman back in Missouri who did bobbin lace. She and her husband did historical reenactments, and it was fascinating to watch her. I have not been brave enough to try that. Just winding all those pairs of bobbins seems to be a major investment in time.

• SuperC
    SuperC Posts: 951 ✭✭✭✭

@Casey Cash Cash What would you do with an egg apron?

• SuperC
    SuperC Posts: 951 ✭✭✭✭