My DIY Aloe+Honey Face Mask

hmsadmin
hmsadmin Posts: 123 admin

After only sparingly taking leaves from my 1 aloe plant.. My aunt surprised me with another, huge aloe (that has 3 little babies, too)! So, now that I had some to spare (and my old one needed a trim anyways), I decided to made up a batch of face mask/moisturizer with what I trimmed off.

I'm a beginner in real home medicine making, but I've been whipping up my own skin care things for years. Much like my cooking, I hardly ever write anything down or follow a recipe to a "T", so I have troubles recreating something when it turns out extra good. I'm trying to change those bad habits though, and wanted to share what I've journaled for this creation.

First and second step was to cleanly slice off the leaves and then sit them upright in a jar for about 15 minutes to let some of the yellow sap drain out. -

I didn't wind up getting much sap out of them. I had read that aloe sap can irritate skin for some people, and though I've never reacted badly to fresh aloe, I decided to go ahead with this step since I intended to use this frequently on my face. I may skip this the next time personally, but, if you have sensitive skin, or know that you react badly to the sap, this step can help reduce that irritation when using aloe. -

This is the amount of sap that drained in about 15 minutes from 3 larger leaves and a few little pieces.

Once they were drained, I moved on to the next step of opening the leaves and removing all the lovely aloe innards! For this process, I used a veggie peeler, a spoon, and some patience. You can tell from the pic below that I got better and more efficient with it as I worked though each leaf -

Out of 3 leaves and some small pieces I wound up with just over 2 oz of aloe gel -