Extending the growing season

Anyone here live up north where the weather will not allow you to garden year round without modifications? I have recently been looking into season extending methods and wondered if anyone here has any advice, tips, or methods that they successfully use to grow crops when the weather says you shouldn't be able to? My husband and I have recently built a cold frame garden bed that we intend to fit with a windowed top to try extending our season, but I will admit that I have no experience using cold frames, so any advice to that in particular would be most welcome :) We are in Ohio, zone 5.

Comments

• circleoflifeunlimited
    circleoflifeunlimited Posts: 57 ✭✭✭

"Four Season Harvest" by Elliot Coleman explains all of this very well. I have followed his advice here in the Southern Rockie Mountains at 7500 ft, and also years ago in NW Montana. His expertise is right on. There is a lot you can do in zone 5 with both cold frames and unheated hoop houses. It is time to plant hardy winter greens NOW. I do this in the shade, as Elliot suggests. First of October I will take the tomato plants out of the unheated hoop house and plant my little greens that were sown in August.

Also, Johnny Seeds lists greens that are more cold hardy. Pay attention to that, it will help.

Good luck!

• Foodgardenguy
    Foodgardenguy Posts: 106 ✭✭✭

@chimboodle04 Yes a cold frame is good, but you also need to make sure that on warmer days, you make sure to have a way to lift the top a little for some cooler air to flow through. The sun through glass can produce a lot of heat.

• Sandy Forest
    Sandy Forest Posts: 28 ✭✭✭