Hard Lotion

blevinandwomba
blevinandwomba Posts: 813 ✭✭✭✭
edited November 2020 in Herbal Medicine-Making

That really sounds like someone left the lid of the lotion bottle and it got dried out. However, I mean solid lotion, hand balm, whatever-you-want-to-call-it. I've been making it for several years now, because its easy to make and very effective. Also, commercial lotions, even very natural ones, give me a strange reaction- I break out into a sweat wherever I apply them. So, homemade lotion for me.

I follow the basic formula, found all over the internet: One part beeswax, one part cocoa butter, one part coconut oil. Melt together, stir, remove from heat, add any essential oils you may want, and pour into a mold. I usually use a large paper muffin cup. I used to pour it into jars, but because it is so hard, I found it difficult to apply that way. When it solidifies it looks like a bar of soap. After I wash my hands or take a shower I rub a thin layer on and rub it in. It will not "soak in" like a water based lotion; you need to rub it in. My favorite part about it as a hand lotion is that it won't wash off the next time you wash your hands. I have to frequently wash my hands at my job, so commercial lotions are almost useless. Not having sweaty hands is nice too.

So who else makes solid/hard lotion?

Comments

• Linda Bittle
    Linda Bittle Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭✭✭

I haven't made any but I do like those that I've purchased.

• chimboodle04
    chimboodle04 Posts: 286 ✭✭✭

Made it for the first time about a month ago and love it :) I used the same basic recipe that you did it sounds like, but added a bit of lavender oil as well. My husband has exceptionally dry skin and we have used so many different products that really have not had any noticeable effect. These seem to work pretty well for him - we will see with continued use... I plan on making more to give as Christmas gifts this year as well :)

• alindsay22
    alindsay22 Posts: 129 ✭✭✭