Home   |   About Us   |   GROW: The Book   |   Blog   |   Join Us   |   Shop   |   Forum Rules

My fruitcake method — The Grow Network Community
Just because something doesn't do what you planned it to do doesn't mean it's useless.

-Thomas Edison

My fruitcake method

blevinandwombablevinandwomba Central PaPosts: 453 ✭✭✭✭

I say my method, because my recipe varies. And though I've been making it for more than ten years, I never seem to make note of helpful little details like, say, how long to bake it or how many it makes, partly because I always make a variety of sizes. I've hesitated to share this then, but I've decided to anyway because if you don't mind a little trial and error, it really makes a delicious fruitcake. People who do not normally eat fruitcake love mine. So, without further ado, the method.

1. Start with a banana bread recipe. I started using the recipe from the twelth addition of Fanny Farmer, I switched a few years ago to the Better homes and Gardens recipe, and I'm experimenting with a gluten-free version. All have been good. Once all the ingredients are in, no one can tell that the base is banana bread. It just gives a moist, pleasant background for all the tasty add-ins. I also add a teaspoon or two of vanilla, which I think mellows it even more. Sometimes I replace some of the banana with applesauce or apple butter.
  2. Use lots and lots of dried fruit. For a recipe that would make a 9x5 loaf of banana bread, add 5 or 6 cups of dried fruit. There should be about as much fruit as there is batter. Use a mix of darker mellow fruits( like dates, figs, raisins) and tangier fruits( like cranberries, tart cherries, gold raisins). I typically do not use candied fruits- most of them have dyes and artificial nasties, and they just taste weird and medicinal. Last year I did include some Amarena cherries that I got from Aldi- the ingredients seemed relatively real food, and they tasted very nice. I won't use maraschino cherries.