Anxiety

2»

Comments

• Grammyprepper
    Grammyprepper Posts: 168 ✭✭✭

Lots of great ideas here! I find breathing exercises most helpful when in a 'panic' or 'anxiety' situation. Remember Lamaze classes, if you've had kids? When I was a practicing nurse, I used those breathing exercises to help patients thru all kinds of stuff...The best for me, and that I used to teach patients was breathing in slowly to a count of four, and then slowly breathing out to a count of four. Breathing through your nose, not your mouth. Simple, easy to remember, and useful in the midst of whatever...

• sarah121
    sarah121 Posts: 129 ✭✭✭

Skullcap is a great herb, although it is quite expensive. A good alternative is Valerian but not everyone can tolerate this (in some people - usually those with a lot of heat or high pitta, it can have the opposite effect.)

I stumbled across this article about herbs which were used for anxiety during WWII. Its such an interesting article and might be helpful.

https://theherbalacademy.com/sheltering-with-valerian/?ap_id=alchemilla

• maimover
    maimover Posts: 359 ✭✭✭

@RhondaBusby so many great suggestions already. I use chamomile, lemon balm, and lavender. I recently heard that simply running your hands through lemon balm and inhaling works rather quickly.

• tomandcara
    tomandcara Posts: 712 ✭✭✭✭

@RhondaBusby You have gotten many great ideas. One thing that hasn't been mentioned directly is the Ventral Vagus Nerve (VVN). I know it may sound intimidating but there is much research recently about the VVN (the Polyvagal Theory) and it's effect on our emotional state. Breathwork is one of the many tools used for stimulating VVN activity as is humming, singing, gargling, and a number if other activities you can do without needing anything other than yourself.