Baking with einkorn

burekcrew86
burekcrew86 Posts: 248 ✭✭✭
edited November 2020 in Baking

I’m interested in switching to einkorn flour in my baking, sourdough starter, etc. I would love to hear your opinions on baking with einkorn. Please share your tips, do’s and don’ts. Point me to some of your favorite tried and true recipes using einkorn.

Comments

• shllnzl
    shllnzl Posts: 1,820 ✭✭✭✭✭
  • kbmbillups1
    kbmbillups1 Posts: 1,396 ✭✭✭✭✭

I've been baking with Einkron for 2 years now. I made my own starter following the directions of Wardee from Traditional Cooking School that @shllnzl posted above. I also bought her Einkforn class and use her recipes. I make bread once a week for my husband since it's supposed to have very little effect on his blood sugar. I halve the recipe from Traditional Cooking School since he's the only one eating it. I've learned that with no preservatives this bread can mold very quickly. So, since my husband is the only one eating it I slice it thin and put parchment paper in between the slices and freeze it for him. The reason I put the parchment paper between the slices is that it sticks together when it freezes and he nukes it in the microwave every time he gets it out of the freezer. I feel like that does away with all of the nutrients. The bread is a little bit of a different color than regular flour. It has a yellowish tint. The texture is a little more dense as well. Last month I had to order whole wheat Einkron flour b/c that's all that wasn't sold out. My husband and I both like the whole wheat better for making his bread than all purpose.