Thoughts on honey.

JodieDownUnder
JodieDownUnder Posts: 1,483 admin
edited November 2020 in Making Herbal Medicine

I'm in a very lucky situation where a local beekeeper has some of his hives on our property and in return we get as much honey as we need. The thought of using that honey, makes me all warm and fuzzy inside and very grateful we have extra bees around to pollinate.

So on my health quest, I eliminate all processed sugar out of our diet. I use honey a lot, in cake and muffin recipes with fruit, to sweeten oatmeal, tea, salad dressing etc. Am I having myself on thinking honey is the most natural sweetener, where in fact it just breaks down in the body like white sugar! I have not done the conquering sugar course on the TGN Honors Lab as I don't consider myself a sugar craver. I thought I was just using honey as a healthy alternative. Thoughts please.

Comments

• judsoncarroll4
    judsoncarroll4 Posts: 5,456 admin
    edited May 2020

I'm no scientist. But, I wouldn't hesitate to use honey. Honey has been has been part of the human diet from the beginning. If we have not adapted to using it over the history of humanity.... well then, we probably haven't adapted to anything. I don't have an issue with sugar - I don't crave it or eat much at all.. and 99% of what I eat is from scratch, so I know what I'm eating. I would rather have honey or molasses, anyway. There is an awful lot to worry about in life... I may be wrong, but I definitely do not think honey is one.

• Torey
    Torey Posts: 5,632 admin

I think the TGN Conquering Sugar course is worthwhile, even if you don't consider yourself a sugar craver or don't plan on following the detox program that is part of the course. There is lots of good information in there.