Home   |   About Us   |   GROW: The Book   |   Blog   |   Join Us   |   Shop   |   Forum Rules

Deep Litter Chicken Run — The Grow Network Community
It's a helluva start, being able to recognize what makes you happy.

- Lucille Ball

Deep Litter Chicken Run

solarnoon.aspensolarnoon.aspen Posts: 198 ✭✭✭
edited November 7 in Birds (Land Fowl & Waterfowl)

I'm fairly new at chicken stewardship. Just 4 years in. And I took all the advice I could get for a while and just experimented with it all. I wanted the best of containment and foraging combined. However, after all of that I was glad to read an article from an Australian blogger that described my dilemma. I read it in the winter and have misplaced it or I'd send the link....... But it is still with me as I am trying HER final method now.

She talked about the lovely feeling of having the chickens wandering around the farm, foraging and free. Then, admitted that chickens can be and so often are extremely destructive of fine gardens, not to mention, they are not protected from predators. YES! In the spring, I do let mine roam and the mess they make takes me days to fix once I can get to prepping my garden patches. And, as we live on the edge of a forest, coyotes and hawks are a close and present danger. I've seen them round up baby wild turkeys and run off with them in their mouths. With them all separated and roaming, it is stressful for Mr Darcy (rooster) to maintain safety of his girls.

The article described the closely fenced chicken run and how fast and completely, it becomes hard pack, dusty absolutely desolate. YUP, that happens in no time and I feel badly because I thought I'd be able to have free rangin' chicks eating grass, clover and worms. But again, it is not safe for them or the rest of the gardens. They end up hanging out in the dust and heat in summer months.