Favorite pickles & how do you keep them crispy?

I’m new to pickling and prefer fermented varieties for the gut health but I’m really interested in how you keep them crispy. What I did last year did not have any crispness when we opened them.

Comments

• judsoncarroll4
    judsoncarroll4 Posts: 5,461 admin

I use sour, plain kombucha added to my salt brine. Kombucha not only contains the tannin of tea, which help keep things crisp, but it also kickstarts and speeds up fermentation dramatically. The faster pickles ferment, the crisper they remain. You can also use whey, juice from sauerkraut, brine from a previous batch or water kefir. But, I find kombucha works best. Also, for cucumbers, be sure to cut off the flower end.

• Merin Porter
    Merin Porter Posts: 1,026 admin

@judsoncarroll4 I still love this idea!!!! I've never actually made pickles, but I totally want to try this one day.

• soeasytocraft
    soeasytocraft Posts: 237 ✭✭✭

Once I started adding a coupe of leaves that contain tannin my pickles are keeping very crispy. Just opened one from last summer and they are beautiful.

grape leaves and raspberry leaves are the ones I use because they are readily available to me.

• Owl
    Owl Posts: 346 ✭✭✭

I knew there had to be a way! Thanks so much! I have been using whey but I can definitely do kombucha. I can just put a regular rim and lid on after the active ferment stops and they stay shelf stable, right?

• judsoncarroll4