Villi yoghurt

Suburban Pioneer
Suburban Pioneer Posts: 339 ✭✭✭
edited November 2020 in Dairy (Cheese, Yogurt, Etc.)

For those who make homemade yoghurt, but who hate the hassle of having to maintain warm temperatures, keep track of time, etc., the answer is... Villi yoghurt! Villi is the only culture in the world, as I understand, that requires NO warming or timing to ferment properly. I've been making it from one original starter batch for about four years, now, right out on our kitchen sink counter, all seasons of the year, in a simple mason jar, with nothing more than the occasional shake of the jar and an eyeball as to when it's thick enough to strain. It's a very mild culture (not like sour Greek), and if you strain it overnight like I do, it's thick like sour cream in the morning. Absolutely superb for flavoring with fresh fruit and a little sweetener, pressing into yoghurt cheese, or using in place of regular cream fillings for cannoli, cream horns, and so on. Best bet for those who don't like to fuss, and for those living off grid. And, I use raw milk. The result is both heavenly and very healthy.

Comments

• judsoncarroll4
    judsoncarroll4 Posts: 5,498 admin

That is VERY interesting! I've had bad luck with yogurt here in NC - we cannot buy anything but ultra-pasteurized milk, and it just never seems to firm up.... maybe if I got the time and temp perfect, it would... but I'm not a terribly detail oriented person. Where can I get some of this Villi culture?

• Suburban Pioneer