Hugelkultur Bed Help

I am a novice to permaculture and gardening in general. I hired a so called consultant to help me plan these hugelkultur beds but it has been a very long process and not sure if I am really doing things properly. Here's the scenario:

I live in tropical Panama in the highlands -daily temperature is 70-75 degrees all day; nights it doesn't go below 68. Rich black volcanic soil in most places. Sun every morning for 6 hours and then rain in the afternoon for a couple of hours. Things are known to grow very easily and quick..

We dug 2'deep trenches and filled with old wood. He said we are to put 4 bags of guava or mango leaves, 1 layer of soil enough to cover the leaves, 2 more bags of leaves, soil of almost 2 feet high, 2 bags of leaves, 4 bags of gallinaza (chicken poop) or cow manure, 2 bags of leaves, 4 bags of gallinaza (chicken poop) or cow manure. Cover with black bag and make sure it gets wet daily and wait to decompose before adding seeds. Its been 4 weeks and it hasn't decomposed. He tells me we have to continue to wait to decompose in order to have the best living soil as the bacteria life grows. I asked him why can't we do the layers and have the top soil on top to plant the seeds. He said if I did that I would be planting on poor living soil. I just want to make sure this is worth the time and effort or is there a better way? Any comments or suggestions are appreciated.

;\

Comments

• marjstratton
    marjstratton Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭✭