What is your favorite Herbal Remedies Book?

Acequiamadre
Acequiamadre Posts: 269 ✭✭✭
edited September 2020 in Making Herbal Medicine

Looking to purchase a few to keep in my library. I have a few on kindle, but it isn't the same when curling up in front of the fire--of flipping through to make tinctures and salves. I am a mid-level beginner. I have a home apothecary and make tinctures, teas, and salves with my daughter. We are moving towards being "plant-based" in our family's health practices.

What books are your favorites and why? Which do you think work best as a "real book" versus an ebook?

Comments

• happy-trails
    happy-trails Posts: 170 ✭✭✭

Any books by Rosemary Gladstar are highly recommended and super professional, very thorough, informative and easy to understand! A physical book is always my preference so I can bookmark, take notes and highlight, write down my adjustments and not have to scroll through an iPad screen for 9 years looking for a certain page. =) I also recommend the DVD series and companion book "Remedy: Ancient Medicine for Modern Illness." This is a series done by The Sacred Science and it walks you through what plants to use for what ailments and best preparation methods for each. The series and book is organized by type of issues and then what herbs work best for those conditions.

• Torey
    Torey Posts: 5,640 admin

I don't think I can answer the question as is cause I simply can't name just one favourite. Partly because some of the books are individualized to specific medicines or are just identification books (very important). But I can give you a list.