Vanilla

silvertipgrizz
silvertipgrizz Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭✭✭
edited October 2020 in General Recipes

Looks like a 'Honka' Dahlia but tastes like vanilla. 🤔

Comments

• MaryRowe
    MaryRowe Posts: 736 ✭✭✭✭

Thanks for posting. This is an interesting article with links to other articles as well. I just put up my first batch of home-made vanilla extract a couple days ago, now waiting impatiently to see how it comes out. That got me interested in reading about vanilla, and this site is a good place to start.

• ltwickey
    ltwickey Posts: 369 ✭✭✭

Great article. I love vanilla beans and refuse to make homemade ice cream with out them!! I have 2 small jars of used beans soaking in vodka for my homemade vanilla extract! Should be ready in another week or so!!

• kbmbillups1
    kbmbillups1 Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭✭✭

@ltwickey  I have vanilla beans soaking in vodka as well. I've been using it slowly for 2 years and need to make some more soon.

• naomi.kohlmeier
    naomi.kohlmeier Posts: 380 ✭✭✭

Well, I went down the Vanilla Bean rabbit hole. Now I'm going to try to make my own extract. We have Vanilla Extract at work, but I can't justify paying 50.00 for a 4 ounce bottle. Or $30 for Vanilla Bean Paste.

Thanks @silvertipgrizz

• LaurieLovesLearning
    LaurieLovesLearning Posts: 7,519 admin

I have made vanilla extract, but am now treating it as gold. Did you know that the price was the same as (or more than) gold 2-3 years ago? It hasn't dropped and availability from various regions has gone way down.

Typhoons wracked Madagascar & destroyed plantations, twice in a row. I have no idea what happened to the Uruguayan nor the Tahitian supplies.

I just can't bring myself to use up what is left of my extract except for on special occasions. I am substituting other homemade extracts & almond extract when appropriate in recipes or avoiding it entirely.