Tomato harvest in freezer waiting to be made into sauce

My tomato harvest did fairly well this season. I have been putting them in bags in the freezer until they are all finished ripening and I will process all of them at once into sauces. Mostly spaghetti sauce as we use a lot of that. But I do want to try making some other types of sauce as well. Anyone have a great ketchup recipe? We like them pretty basic, but I have never done ketchup before. My BBQ sauce recipes have always started with ketchup as well. In store bought our favorite is the Sweet Baby Ray's brand of BBQ and Prego for the spaghetti sauce.

Any other sauce ideas for tomatoes?

Comments

• JodieDownUnder
    JodieDownUnder Posts: 1,483 admin

@vickeym I usually make good old passata. Then I've got the base to work with and can add different ingredients, depending on what I'm cooking. Popular dishes in our house are lasagna, vegetable pasta sauce, spag bol, butter chicken, indian curry, mexican buddha bowls, tomato rice pilaf etc. All of those recipes start with a base of tomato passata. If I want to make a sauce or ketchup, I also start with the passata base. One I use for steak or sausages off the bbq. Fine dice 1 onion, 3 cloves diced garlic, fry them off. Add 2 cups tomato passata, 1/2 tsp sumac, cumin, 1 tblsp dijon mustard and s&p to taste. Simmer until cooked. Sometimes I add stock to make it more runny consistency. Pour into bowl and spoon on. If there's any leftover, it refrigerates well or it can be added to another recipe. Good old passata, very versatile.

• vickeym
    vickeym Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭✭✭