Error in My Ways

dmthennessy
dmthennessy Posts: 29 ✭✭✭

When I was a novice gardener, I planted what appealed to me without researching the plants. This is a cautionary tale. So today I share that I planted bittersweet, whether Asian or American, I do not know. It has covered ash trees killed by the emerald ash borer, and the roots grow wildly in my garden, which I dig out every now and then. It also grows on live trees, and looks like it killed my neighbor’s pine tree. I do go around cutting them down and pulling roots out, to control the spread, as this is necessary for control.

Not only does bittersweet grow where you plant it, but those lovely yellow and red berries are seeds that will gladly sprout wherever they land. And as birds consider them a delicacy, they plant them all over your yard.

Control is necessary because this orange rooted flora, can take over a yard in no time. It's especially important to pull out the seedlings before they grow out of control, and the roots have traveled yards across your garden. As I can't seem to get every little piece of bittersweet root, I am constantly vigilant to spot new growth around my garden.

I'll attach some pictures to identify bittersweet so you can be sure you are not creating a vining jungle.

Still and all, when I see the fall berries, I see beauty.

BITTERSWEET GROWING ON ASH TREE SKELETON

BITTERSWEET BERRIES (UNRIPE)

DUG UP ROOTS OF BITTERSWEET

Comments

• Annie Kate
    Annie Kate Posts: 680 ✭✭✭✭

I've done that, too. Creeping charlie, Japanese knotweed....

• dmthennessy
    dmthennessy Posts: 29 ✭✭✭

We are all learning together, with no one really sure where this planet is going! We just have to keep at it.

• LaurieLovesLearning
    LaurieLovesLearning Posts: 7,573 admin
    edited October 2020

For me, it was a variety of tansy. After over 15 years, I am finally down to only 4 known plants scattered about everywhere, even though I only gave it one home initially.