Banana Butter Pecan almost non-dairy ice cream

blevinandwomba
blevinandwomba Posts: 813 ✭✭✭✭

I apologize for the cumbersome title.

I am sensitive to dairy, so I have been making coconut milk ice creams for a few years now, with varying success. I made this a few weeks ago, and I thought it was my best ice cream ever. The texture was quite nice, and the flavor was a mellow banana/vanilla flavor with a hint of butteryness. If you are wondering about the "almost non-dairy", this does contain butter. You might be able to toast the pecans in oil, or simply dry roast them, but I have not tried it.

Banana Butter Pecan Icecream

5 bananas

6 c. coconut cream ( I use Aroy-d- no additives and a good value for the price.)

½ c. coconut sugar

1/4-1/3 c. honey

1 ½ tsp. Vanilla extract

¾ tsp. Almond extract

¾ tsp. Salt

1 cup pecans, rough chopped

butter

Brown pecans in butter in a skillet for about 5 minutes. Scrape pecans and butter into a dish and set aside to cool. Brown 1 banana in 1 tbs. Butter in the skillet, cooking just until brown. Mash and chill. Mash and measure both brown and fresh bananas; should equal 2 c. mash. Blend remaining ingredients, adding about a 1/3 of the pecans before putting in the icecream maker. Add the remainder after churning.

Notes: I think I used 3 tbs. of butter altogether. I used 2 tbs. of butter for the pecans. I started browning the butter before I added the nuts; that meant that the butter was starting to burn by the time they were done, so I poured most of it off. I would still use 3 tbs. of butter next time, I just would add the pecans sooner. It could have used a little more butter flavor.

Comments

• Monek Marie
    Monek Marie Posts: 3,537 ✭✭✭✭✭

@blevinandwomba I will be trying this as soon as possible. Sounds wonderful!

• blevinandwomba
    blevinandwomba Posts: 813 ✭✭✭✭