Parsnips! Long ones, short ones, skinny ones, fat ones!

soeasytocraft
soeasytocraft Posts: 237 ✭✭✭

I'm new to parsnips here in zone 3a. Leaving in ground for winter harvest is not an option. Would love to hear some successful ways to store them. We have a cold storage room.

Planning to freeze some of the smaller ones that won't keep as well.

Looking forward to ideas! 😀

Comments

• Monek Marie
    Monek Marie Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭✭✭

Use the cold storage room and place in sand and container

• LaurieLovesLearning
    LaurieLovesLearning Posts: 7,576 admin

I have heard of what Denise suggested. I freeze parsnips.

I LOVE parsnips. They have got to be one of my most favorite vegetables! 🥰

• Monek Marie

I freeze them too and somethimes mix them with other veggies and freeze together. We have made a parsnip veggie herb patty and freeze those to fry or bake.

With planning maybe next year you could have an outdoor area to grow them in the winter. My friend in Alaska used to grow carrots and parsnips in the winter out doors and still harvest them. She was a zone 2 and one amazing gardener

• soeasytocraft

@Denise Grant The herb patty you mention sounds great! Will have to give that a try!

I'd love to hear how your Alaskan friend manages in the winter. Our ground is totally frozen like cement in the winter. I know one thing digging in the winter will never happen. I love parsnips but not that much! 😜

• Torey
    Torey Posts: 5,679 admin

@soeasytocraft If you are going to store them in sand, make sure it is moist sand. I used dry sand one year for carrots and the dry sand sucked all of the moisture out of the carrots. They were wizened up little sticks when we emptied the buckets.