Kombucha

COWLOVINGIRL
COWLOVINGIRL Posts: 954 ✭✭✭✭

So, I started making kombucha this spring and then took a break this fall. I'll admit I didn't really store my scoby very well at all, I had it in our porch in a jar, in a dark place. Recently when I decide to try it again, I though I might have to buy a new scoby, but I decided to try and see if it was still good. Everything seemed to be going fine until I stared to notice some scummy stuff that gets on the neck of the jar and flakes of something that sit on the top if the kombucha tea. Oh, and my scoby isn't really growing. Is this okay? Do I need to buy a new scoby, or maybe just give it some more time? Thank you!

Tagged:

Comments

• COWLOVINGIRL

My scoby is looking better! I think it just needed more time!

• kbmbillups1
    kbmbillups1 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭✭✭

I've been making komubcha for a couple years now. I hope your scoby is okay b/c they're expensive to buy. If not I hope you have a friend who can give you one. Maybe let it do it's thing for a week and then make new tea for it so it can grow more.

• COWLOVINGIRL

Ya, that's what I've been doing and it seems to be helping! I was really scared there for awhile!

• happy-trails
    happy-trails Posts: 170 ✭✭✭