Black Copper Marans & Chocolate Ameraucana

LaurieLovesLearning
LaurieLovesLearning Posts: 7,576 admin

My eggs have arrived from the breeder! I was so nervous that they might have to sit in the post office for the long weekend as I fretted about them from home. But they are here!

I had 2 broken & 2 cracked. I have 14 BCM (dark eggs) and 21 CA (Blue & green eggs). The green is due to a crossing 7 generations ago in order to bring the chocolate gene in. I was given some exhibition black am. × choc. am eggs as well for gene diversity. These are considered split to black. So, out of those few, I will have black cockerels & chocolate pullets at hatch. I have a lot to learn about how to effectively use splits in a breeding program. "Easy" they say. But I am just beginning with doing this type of thing. 😬

The pictures don't do it justice, due to the artificial lighting, but will give you an idea. The blue is quite blue. The breeder apologized twice for the "lightness" of the dark eggs and that they are off her 2-3 yr. old hens (but that's perfect for best chick strength). She reassured me (not necessary, lol) that the resulting BCM pullets will lay much darker. Considering, I am very excited & hoping for a great hatch!

They get set at noon tomorrow. In 21 days, I will meet my new babies!

Comments

• karenjanicki
    karenjanicki Posts: 996 ✭✭✭✭

Awesome! That's exciting :).

• Torey
    Torey Posts: 5,679 admin

Very exciting! If you don't mind me asking, how much did these eggs cost? I haven't had anything to do with purchasing eggs for incubation for many, many years and I'm sure it will come as sticker shock for me.

• LaurieLovesLearning
    edited May 2021

@torey If you buy specialty heritage breed hatching eggs, they are expensive. Breeders will sell high to help cover their costs and pay for some of the time they put in improving their breed(s).