Seasonal eating

RustBeltCowgirl
RustBeltCowgirl Posts: 1,403 ✭✭✭✭✭

I feed quite a few articles to the media assistant for the CSA that I have a subscription to.

These are two that I just sent her on Seasonal Eating. Thought some of you might be interested.

This second one includes lots of charts. Plus information regarding seasonal eating from Chinese Traditional Medicine and Native American.

Comments

• Monek Marie
    Monek Marie Posts: 3,537 ✭✭✭✭✭

@RustBeltCowgirl Very nice. Thank you!~

• Lisa K
    Lisa K Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭✭✭

I really like this type of eating, in fact I have an ayurvedic cookbook that is done seasonal foods as well as Doshas.

• Jens the Beekeeper
    Jens the Beekeeper Posts: 651 admin

@RustBeltCowgirl Great articles but It's a shame that most people need to have the charts and additional info.

• MaryRowe
    MaryRowe Posts: 736 ✭✭✭✭

Very good articles--they pull a lot of solid, useful information together. The recipes in the first article look like they are certainly worth trying. I forwarded both articles on to a friend who is just beginning to think about such things. I think they are perfect to encourage a person thinking about it to actually start eating seasonally.

My one pet peeve--though it might have more to do with the local market than with articles like these--is the routine assertion that buying at farmers' markets, local fruit stands and such is cheaper than the grocery store. One of these articles even cites a couple of studies to that effect. Well they certainly didn't study the farmers' markets around here! Prices for fresh produce can be as much as double the grocery store prices, baked goods often triple. You buy because you know it's fresh, organic, and supporting local small farmers (although you have to be careful there too, and know your seller to be sure they are not just trucking in the produce from another state.) Growing your own is still the best option....