Magnet Therapy

stephanie447
stephanie447 Posts: 404 ✭✭✭

I'm studying magnet therapy, not just for my personal benefit but because I think it might help people to do a little online course about it. Anyone here use magnets for pain relief or other conditions?

I'll give a brief heads up that they talk a lot about "positive" and "negative" in magnet therapy and sometimes equate these to the "poles" of a magnet (north vs. south). However, the best I can figure is that someone early on in magnet therapy got confused and mislabeled the poles. So in "biomagnetism," you'll hear "bio-north" (which is the south pole in magnet science) and "bio-south" (which is the north pole in magnet science).

Many manufacturers confuse all these terms so you never know what you are getting until you get the magnet and can test it yourself.

Some say the positive side may be potentially harmful, but considering all the confusion I wonder if that's really true.

There are many ways to use them...you can apply them directly to the area of pain, for starters.

Tagged:

Comments

• Torey
    Torey Posts: 5,679 admin

My mum was a big fan of magnets for arthritis. She used the agricultural kind for cows' stomachs and would sleep with one under her pillow.

Thanks for reminding me. I have been having an issue waking up with arthritic stiffness lately and now will find one of her magnets.

I have used magnetic bracelets in the past with good results. I like the magnetised hematite.

This was a great idea for a discussion. I look forward to hearing if others have had successes with magnets.

• marjstratton
    marjstratton Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭✭

I had friends in the past who were very enthusiastic about magnets for pain and arthritis. I have gotten a hematite bracelet. I find it quite attractive, but I'm not sure that it helps my pain much.

• Tave
    Tave Posts: 952 ✭✭✭✭✭

I've heard good and bad about magnet therapy, though I've never tried it myself.