Making a lotion

hedgehog girl
hedgehog girl Posts: 16 ✭✭✭

I've been using a chickweed/plantain salve, and more recently a chickweed tincture for toning my face. When I put the tincture on my cheeks, the fumes from it irritate my eyes, so I was wondering if a lotion could be made from the tincture and the salve? Or if the salve should have been an oil without beeswax to mix well?

Comments

• Torey
    Torey Posts: 5,690 admin

@hedgehog girl I think you could melt the salve back to its liquid state and then make a lotion from that. You might need a bit more oil for a lotion. I'm not very experienced making lotions, so I don't know what proportions to recommend to you. A few drops of tincture shouldn't affect a lotion recipe that much.

Another option would be to make a facial toner. You could add your tincture to witch hazel, aloe gel or hydrosols or a combination of any of these. Rose hydrosol is a common ingredient in skin toners I have seen.

• annbeck62
    annbeck62 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭✭