Handicapped gardening

I have been gardening for over 50 years. Three yrs. ago, broke my hip, falling on concrete. After I got home, doc said I am to use a rollator forever, because of my dizzy spells. That is a side affect of my epilepsy meds. I have a rollator inside the house, one in the car we use for going shopping, and one under the covered patio that is for yardwork. I seem to find these at thrift stores, except the house one was sent to me about 5 yrs. ago from a pen pal 6 states away, years before I needed it. A cane is not stable enough. The rollator in the garden gets hung up on rocks, etc. At times it is a chore, but maybe more exercise, as I have to push hard to get it going. Hubby has made a lot of raised beds, which helps. Picking berries gives me something to hang on to for stability. I did a lot of weeding & plant dividing working on my knees. Last fall, as I got to stand up, oh no, broke my ankle. I pronate as I walk, and I guess I pronated my ankle too far. Therapist wanted me to get up and down for exercise, and now that is over. Any ideas from any other gardener's with a disability will be appreciated.

Comments

• SuperC
    SuperC Posts: 952 ✭✭✭✭

@bookworm Maybe try herb spiral garden beds that can be taller so that you may not need to bend down. I learned about these in a Permaculture Design course. Sorry to hear about your ankle, how is it healing or has it healed?

• dipat2005
    dipat2005 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭✭✭

@SuperC a spiral garden bed might work for some but for me I want something thin to build up the walls so I can have a raised bed. My garden bed only measures 11 inches wide but is 12 feet long.

• bookworm
    bookworm Posts: 35 ✭✭✭