Tips on growing lettuce

Comments

• Great tips on growing lettuce. I always refer to this video by Charles Dowding

• Monek Marie
    Monek Marie Posts: 3,542 ✭✭✭✭✭

I have moved more to the colorful varieties of lettuce. They seem to do better in the heat. I also grow more lettuce in the house in the winter. It seems by time I buy lettuce (which is one of thr most sprayed veggies out there) and get it home, its half rotted or has no flavor.

One area I have never worked with before is saving seed. This will be my first real attempt at it.

@Jens the Beekeeper love Charles Dowding

• @Monek Marie saving seed from lettuce is relatively easy. It self pollinates readily. The tricky thing is to catch it prior to be completely dry when the wind will blow it throughout your whole garden.

Just select the last plant going to seed as long as it grows as vigorous as the other plants. This way you will get a locally adapted bolt hardy selection over time.

• dipat2005
    dipat2005 Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭✭✭

I am interested in growing lettuce this year. Funny thing is I never eat it but I think lettuce would be tastier if I grew it myself.

• Monek Marie

I always try to save seeds from the plants that did what I wanted. I did not think of slow bolt.

For tomatoes I save from the earliest plant to have a ripe tomato and again from the plant that will have a tomato that get through a light frost. Pappers I go for ther first top produce - Peppers a re bit picky here so I need an early strong producer.

I love saving seed. It's fun to see the changes in the plants as they acclimate to your growing conditions.

• Monek Marie
  • judsoncarroll4
    judsoncarroll4 Posts: 5,498 admin

I am very fortunate in that lettuce is one of those plants that grows really well where I live. Lettuce and cabbage were major crops around here before Christmas trees came to dominate.

• vickeym
    vickeym Posts: 2,153 ✭✭✭✭✭