What grows well here? (Carolinas)

BrionB
BrionB Posts: 2 ✭✭✭
edited April 2022 in Garden Design

Good morning!

I am new to growing food. What are some ways for me to learn what grows best in my area by season? We have a new home in the Carolinas at the 3200 foot level, so cold weather can run from September to April. It is also a forested property, so if we need 6 to 8 hours of direct sunlight we will need to clear some land. But it would be helpful to know what can grow at this elevation in partial shade.

We also have to travel a good bit, so I am also trying to figure out how to grow food while being absent sometimes for one to two weeks.  Considering Kratky method, but animals would need a baby sitter, I assume

Would our local extension office be a good resource? Other suggestions? Thank you so much for your advice!

Have a great day!

Best Answers

• judsoncarroll4
    judsoncarroll4 Posts: 5,462 admin
    Answer ✓

Welcome @BrionB ! Honestly, most anything will grow in the Carolinas, which was why Sir Walter Raleigh thought he had found the Garden of Eden. 3200 ft, depending on which county is pretty temperate - Hickory, Morganton, Wilkesboro, etc are great ag areas that also grow some good grapes. The best book I can recommend is Vegetable Gardening for The Southeast. Your temps will hit the up 90s in summer and probably 5 below in the winter. You will get plenty of rain and will need to consider flash flooding. Kudzu will grow a yard a day in season! So, expect rampant, lush growth for most anything. As for partial shade, the Almanac had a great article the other day

• JennyT Upstate South Carolina
    JennyT Upstate South Carolina Posts: 1,273 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓

@BrionB Welcome!