Raised bed Garden

dipat2005
dipat2005 Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭✭✭

I asked my son to make a raised bed and he didn't listen to me as much as I would have liked. He insists it needs a bottom with drain holes. I ordered some worms locally and will pick them up ahead of the garden. What can I do with the worms ahead of time (a week). They will come in a yogurt container (I do not know what size the container) is. I am not sure what kind of container to add them too. I am thinking something with a lid. I also wondered if food scraps would work with them. They are red worms. I have a lot of frozen food scraps waiting to make bone broth and wondered if that would work?

Comments

• Torey
    Torey Posts: 5,690 admin

@dipat2005 Where is your raised bed going to be located?

I've never done a worm farm before so I'm no expert but you can get expert advice in TGN's Academy in two courses, Vermicomposting and Worm Bins. Both are short "Weekend" courses. I'm pretty sure you can store your worms in the fridge for a short period of time but don't quote me on that.

• Michelle D
    Michelle D Posts: 1,465 ✭✭✭✭✭

When my husband purchases worms for fishing I keep them in the refrigerator. They need to be cool, have plenty of air and stay moist. Make sure that there are vent holes in the top of the container and that the soil doesn't get dry. It shouldn't be soaked just damp. I spray the top of the soil with a spray bottle every few days. They usually last about 2 weeks in these conditions. It wouldn't hurt to put some small compostable scraps in there for them to eat on.

• JodieDownUnder
    JodieDownUnder Posts: 1,483 admin