Contemplating knee replacement surgery

dipat2005
dipat2005 Posts: 1,273 ✭✭✭✭
edited December 2023 in General Health

Any thoughts on knee replacement surgery? I have been using a cane for 1 1/2 years and let me tell you it is cumbersome. I am 78 years old and have allergies to anesthetics and pain killers.

Lately I have been using Homeopathic pain relievers. It works really well for me. I have had asthma this year because of the cats who are in the house. At least that is what I suspect is the cause. The asthma isn't bad just there.

I would like to be more mobile than I am. After the last surgery I difficulty speaking, using a computer, spelling, had no filter, and remembering what I was going to say. I really thought I had a stroke on the table. I did read all the notes for surgery and didn't see that there was a problem at all with my blood pressure. I do know the Anesthesiologist used an adult dose of anesthesia-I usually ask for a lighter dose but forgot to do that. I don't know if it would have made any difference.

I am wondering if there are things I can supplement with ahead of time or things I can do to alleviate the problems that could happen.

Does anyone have any suggestions that might help?

Comments

• LaurieLovesLearning
    LaurieLovesLearning Posts: 7,505 admin

@dipat2005 I hope someone has some good advice for you. I know personally how bad knees can be. It's very limiting.

• Michelle D
    Michelle D Posts: 1,465 ✭✭✭✭✭

I have not had this surgery personally. I know several people that have. I have noticed that it can be a hard recovery at times but they were all glad to have had it done once they were recovered. That being said, none of them had any of the concerns that you listed @dipat2005. I hope that you find the solution and it all goes well.

• Torey
    Torey Posts: 5,623 admin