Growing herbs in the winter

burekcrew86
burekcrew86 Posts: 248 ✭✭✭
edited September 2018 in Our Garden: Growing Food
youll most likely need some artificial light or at least 6 hours of south facing natural sunlight per day or about 14 hours of artificial light, these days they have great LED's to use. herbs like Parsley, basil, sage and thyme do well indoors int he winter.

HTH
Heather

Comments

• peppypoblano
    peppypoblano Posts: 92
    edited September 2018
    I bring in the basil every winter.  I keep it in a south facing window.  It can start to look a little leggy by spring but takes right off once it goes back out.
  • Dominica
    Dominica Posts: 42
    edited September 2018
    Sage has always done well for me indoors.
  • Cherlynn
    Cherlynn Posts: 169 ✭✭✭
    edited September 2018
    I've been bringing in my herbs for many years.  The cool herbs like sage, theme and rosemary do very well in my south facing window sills.  Hot herbs like basil need heat and lots of light so I don't bother bring those in.  I pick my basil and oregano clean before my first hard freeze and dehydrate them for winter use or if I have room I pack them into jars with olive oil and keep them in the fridge.  Lettuces and kale do very well inside also.  I've even grown carrots in window boxes.  I don't use grow lights, just put them on the south side windows.  As I approach 70 years old I am keeping things simple.  Less work is much better.
  • burekcrew86
    burekcrew86 Posts: 248 ✭✭✭
    edited September 2018
    Thank you for the awesome info and ideas. I just bought a dehydrator and am looking forward to using it.
  • Jens the Beekeeper
    Jens the Beekeeper Posts: 651 admin
    edited September 2018
    I do this a bit different. I also fresh and dry alot of herbs but I in addition use my seed starting rack for growing baby leaf salad already mixed with herbs like parsley and basil. This way I have a flavourfull salat.