Propogating berries

Jens the Beekeeper
Jens the Beekeeper Posts: 651 admin
edited September 2018 in Our Garden: Growing Food

Comments

• ines871
    ines871 Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭✭✭

The title is "propagating berries" but no posts ? Was it deleted? Was there suggestions, or a question?

Here are growing Blackberries, Blueberries, Currants, Gooseberries, Raspberries, Strawberries, Gojiberries, etc. Half are still babies. And we plan to add more.

• Jens the Beekeeper

Seems that the original content got lost during the recent forum update/reshape.

I asked for the methods everyone uses to propagate their berries.

For black currants I am very successfull with just popping the cuts into the soil and let them root on their own.

Blueberries I have no experience with and would liek to try a tested method to expand my stock of currently 4 varieties with one plant each to something more substantial.

• Merin Porter
    Merin Porter Posts: 1,026 admin

With my raspberries, I just dig about 6 inches around the extra cane while they're still dormant, prune down to about the second node, transplant, and water well. Just did this about a month ago and they've already leafed out and are looking happy....

• Wnon
    Wnon Posts: 7

Strawberries put out daughter plants and those root easily. I use rooting hormone for blueberries, saskatoons and haskap. Take new growth for the cuttings, dip in hormone and stick in soil. Keep moist.

Also, do try making your own rooting hormone...chop up willow branches, the ones that are new growth, and cover in water. I let mine sit for a couple of days and use it to water any vine cuttings (like grapes). Also works for some flowering shrubs I propagate for the landscaping industry here in Manitoba.

• Jens the Beekeeper

An Sex forgot shout und strawberries. I use für same approach vor the as you Wendy. Need yet to try für willow water. Current J habe willow cuttings growing😉

• DebiB
    DebiB Posts: 92 ✭✭✭