What's your favorite salsa recipe? (And can you help fix mine? :) )

I've been fiddling with a salsa recipe for a few months, but haven't gotten it just right yet. I am posting it here in case someone has suggestions for improving it. (I have three kids who like their salsa fairly mild, so that's why you don't see any jalapenos in this recipe. But I've tried it with jalapenos, too, and they didn't improve it the way I was hoping.)

2-1/2 T. chopped onion

2 large garlic cloves

1 tsp salt

scant 1/4 tsp cumin

6 T chopped cilantro

scant 1/4 tsp sugar

1 medium lime (juice)

1 can rotel tomatoes

1 28 oz can peeled tomatoes

I puree everything but the tomatoes in my food processor, then add the tomatoes and pulse it all until it gets to a consistency I like.

(At various times, I've tried adding coriander seed, jalapenos, using purple onion instead of white, adding black pepper, and adding a little white vinegar. I've also played with the amounts of the main ingredients.....)

Thanks so much!

Comments

• DeeperEating
    DeeperEating Posts: 63 ✭✭✭

What are you hoping to make different about it? Does it seem like there is a flavor or complexity missing?

• Merin Porter
    Merin Porter Posts: 1,026 admin

It does seem like there's some depth and complexity missing. It's just not making me say, "Wow, this is the best salsa I've ever had!" yet. And I know that's a subjective thing, which is challenging. I've even tried adding small amounts of soy sauce to see if the umami would boost the complexity, but I could taste the soy underneath it all, which ended up being an odd flavor.

There is a restaurant in Houston, TX, called Guadalajara Hacienda that has the best salsa I've ever tasted. I asked them for the recipe, but they wouldn't share it. I've been trying to recreate that; I've looked at a bunch of different recipes, but salsa seems like such a personal thing for people that what everyone likes is different.