Any goat owners out there? Hoof trimming help?

I have an older Nigerian Dwarf buck that someone gave my daughter in law. She lovingly passed him on to me so I really don't know much about him but he's sweet and loving until I try to touch his collar then he tries to RUN! He needs his hooves trimmed badly. Any ideas how to catch him and make him stay still ? I'm pretty new to goats but I've managed to trim the others hooves. I guess my husband and I could wrestle him to the ground but I'm afraid to give him an anxiety attack. Is there any herbs I could give him to calm him? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• kabaras
    kabaras Posts: 9 ✭✭✭

I don't know about calming herbs. I have trimmed mine on a goat stand. A little feed to catch him? Take a little off at a time to get him used to trimming without too much stress. It might seem upsetting to you but in the long run he will be happier and healthier. Since your husband is there he might be able to hold him once caught while you trim. I find them less stressed if they are able to stand. But....he will fight you by kicking and trying trying get away. Just keep trying until he gets used to being touched and trimmed. Good luck! Remember he is lucky to have you!

• merlin44
    merlin44 Posts: 426 ✭✭✭✭