Persimmons

peppypoblano
peppypoblano Posts: 92
edited September 2018 in Our Garden: Growing Food
Where are you located?  I’m in northern CA and people grow persimmons but I’ve not seen wild ones.  Pic?

Comments

• peppypoblano
    edited September 2018
  • peppypoblano
    edited September 2018
    We are in north central Arkansas.  They are everywhere here.  A favorite among the raccoons.
  • alindsay22
    alindsay22 Posts: 129 ✭✭✭
    edited September 2018
    Love it, thanks!  People grow the Asian varieties here.
  • Wendy
    Wendy Posts: 20
    edited September 2018
    Is there a cold hardy persimmon?  I haven't tried finding any yet.  I'm just getting started on my fruit and nut tree adventures.
  • peppypoblano
    edited September 2018
    Alindsay22 ours are American persimmons.  They are smaller than the Asian variety.

Wendy, I'm not sure if there are cold hardy varieties.  I have read the naturalized ones can be found as far north as Connecticut but short of that I don't really know.
  • EarlKelly
    EarlKelly Posts: 230 ✭✭✭

Got one in my fruit tree shipment this spring by mistake. Grew pretty good. Just outside the normal grow zone for this persimmon. Will see if I can coax it along here in northeast PA. Will find out in the spring. Anxious to see. Will watch to learn more about persimmons as I am not familiar with them at all. Thanks for the info.

• maimover
    maimover Posts: 359 ✭✭✭

Growing up the family across the street from me had a persimmon tree. I remember eating them as kids and thinking they were so bitter but w r really didn’t know if they were even ripe. So many of the wild plants, trees, and bushes were loaded with fruits; what a great time!

• merlin44
    merlin44 Posts: 426 ✭✭✭✭

@EarlKelly There's a recent discussion (thread) on persimmons you might find interesting. Just search Persimmons.

• judsoncarroll4
    judsoncarroll4 Posts: 5,490 admin