I'd Like to Make a Good Sauerkraut

I've tried it twice, using just salt and working it into the shredded cabbage. I cannot get the taste I want, and eventually I get scared and throw it out.

It seems so simple, And I'm a pretty good cook. Anyone have a fool-proof method?

Comments

• chimboodle04
    chimboodle04 Posts: 286 ✭✭✭

Have you left it to ferment long enough? We make ours in a big seven gallon crock. Shred cabbage and mix with salt and press down into the crock in layers using a potato masher to get a good press. As you do this the liquid formed will eventually rise over the top of the cabbage as you keep adding and pressing firmly. Once all cabbage is in, we use a few squares of cheese cloth and tuck it down the sides against the cabbage, then use weights to keep the cabbage submerged under the brine. Remove any bits of floating cabbage since those will start to mold and wipe down the inner sides of the crock. Cover - we use a clean dishcloth topped with a large plate that fits the top perfectly. Ferment for two to three weeks, checking occasionally for signs of mold, floating bits, and taste. We choose to can most of ours and have found that the flavor complexity develops while they are in the jars. Now, we try not to open jar until it has been on the shelf for a year! - perfection :)

• wbt.affiliates
    wbt.affiliates Posts: 100 ✭✭✭

@Mary Linda Bittle This is an excellent article. It also works with carrots, cauliflower, broccoli, and other vegetables.

• judsoncarroll4
    judsoncarroll4 Posts: 5,490 admin