Making Apple Cider Vinegar

csinclair461
csinclair461 Posts: 159 ✭✭✭
edited November 2020 in Ferments

I have been making my own apple cider vinegar for several years. Recently a relative of mine has started to make some as well. Its opened up some discussions we have both been learning from. They asked me the other day whether to add more water to a jar of vinegar that has been strained, but then evaporated some of its water. I don’t do that, because I dont want to mess with the ph. But it got me to wondering if it would be better to, if it isn’t too much water- maybe leaving it along leaves it too concentrated. Any fermenters here want to weigh in on their practices? I may have been making this for awhile, but there are always things to improve on!

Comments

• Obiora E
    Obiora E Posts: 517 ✭✭✭✭

@csinclair461 I have never made Apple Cider Vinegar but made some Red Wine Vinegar from a bug that I received from a friend. How do you make your Apple Cider Vinegar?

• csinclair461

I fill a jar about 3/4 full of apple peels/cores, not stems, or even diced apple. Then I fill jar with sugar water (1 Tablesppon sugar to 1 cup water). Cover with a clean cloth (or I use a coffee filter) and let sit 2 weeks-1 month. Then I strain it, and let the strained ferment sit for another month or two. When I use a sweet apple like red delicious, it turns out a lot sweeter of a vinegar than store bought.

• Amy
    Amy Posts: 35 ✭✭✭

I have wanted to try my hand at making apple cider vinegar from my own apples. I have a fermenting setup to use on a quart jar. Would that be okay to use?

• csinclair461

@JoAnn Yes, that would work fine- I use quart jars and half gallon jars. Oh, and of course, the apple parts need to be kept submerged, like with sauerkraut.

• vickeym
    vickeym Posts: 2,134 ✭✭✭✭✭