Clearance Plants

T. Michael Smith
T. Michael Smith Posts: 10 ✭✭✭

My wife finds my frugality annoying and amusing, and I have rubbed off on her.

I am a clearance shelf professional. One place it really plays out is plants. In the past month in clearance I have picked up 2 Raspberry Bushes, 2 Blackberry Bushes, 3 Blueberry Bushes, 2 Hibiscus bushes, 1 Hibiscus Tree, a tray of Brussels Sprout's, and some almost dead buttercrunch lettuce. Almost everything looked root bound and neglected. Everything is thriving where I planted it. I saved between 50%-75% off everything. You should still be able to find some clearance Items located in some special spot in Lowes, Home Depot, Walmart, or your local Ace or True Value. If you have Dr. Appointments that have you going to town at least once a week. Make friends out of the garden center sales people or the Vendors that supply them. They can even save you plants they would have thrown away. Take advantage of our waste. Otherwise it ends up in a landfill. They also throw nursery pots away with the plants. You could get a lot of pots for your greenhouse free. They also have scrap lumber for free of 90% off. You can get your homestead or farm thriving on a budget.

Hope this was helpful to you.

Comments

• pamelamackenzie
    pamelamackenzie Posts: 143 ✭✭✭
    edited October 2019

Some people dislike big box stores and won't buy their plants. However, if it can survive the the parking lot of Walmart (where they make a temporary spring plant area), I figure it can survive me.

• ines871
    ines871 Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭✭✭

Around here, relevant stores sell back any unFit lumber, & what I got for Free, is now on its way to 'woodchip' land. Am beginning to think "well, turn our green House, into a Greenhouse; but family objects "Are u crazy?" Rhetorical question.

Thrift stores, incldg. Habitat-4-Humanity are like a 2nd home.