Anyone with Knowledge on Holy Basil

lmrebert
lmrebert Posts: 363 ✭✭✭✭
edited April 2020 in Making Herbal Medicine

I have this beautiful tulsi And due to all the hours I’ve been working I am never out to prune the flowers off so the leaves will grow more bushy and plentiful on my holy basil I know that they say you can remove about 30% of a plant but some people recommend only 10% and now that I have time I’m out here looking at it wondering if I should remove all of these flowers or not does anybody have any help with this? Also, has anyone used mostly flowers to do tincture or oil infusion? Sorry pictures from my phone want to be sideways always who knows why 🙄

Comments

• LaurieLovesLearning
    LaurieLovesLearning Posts: 7,573 admin

I will be watching this closely. I have holy basil seeds coming my way soon!

• Torey
    Torey Posts: 5,679 admin

This is my first year growing tulsi and they are still babies under lights, so definitely not an expert in growing this one. However, with other basils, it seems to be best to pinch off the flowers. Usually, once they go to seed they kind of lose their vigour. Hopefully someone else has more experience growing this lovely plant and can offer advice.

• judsoncarroll4
    judsoncarroll4 Posts: 5,490 admin

I planted some... nothing yet

• JodieDownUnder
    JodieDownUnder Posts: 1,483 admin

I have only this year planted tulsi, back in late spring ( Oct ) but I keep picking it so it is still only smallish but very bushy! Maybe prune back 3/4 of it and let the rest go to seed. I chew fresh tulsi leaves on a regular basis.

• seeker.nancy - Central Texas
    seeker.nancy - Central Texas Posts: 795 ✭✭✭✭