Natural remedies for Poison Ivy

burekcrew86
burekcrew86 Posts: 248 ✭✭✭
edited November 2020 in General Health

As we are getting into the warmer weather I am outdoors constantly. I always seem to somehow inadvertently run into and get a bout of poison ivy. I would love to hear what your favorite tried and true methods are for treating poison ivy?

Tagged:

Comments

• Torey
    Torey Posts: 5,679 admin

Poison Ivy is found in my area but it is not very common so I have no personal experience with it. However, my choice for emergency herbal first aid for this situation would probably be plantain as it likely to be found growing close by. But I would prefer to use the homeopathic remedy Rhus-tox. It is made from poison ivy and is very effective dealing with rashes. Following is a link to the American Botanical Council's HerbalGram on Poison Ivy. There are a number of good suggestions on this page, including using poison ivy itself as a counter-irritant or for hyper-sensitisation. They also mention using it as a homeopathic remedy and that would be the safest way to treat with "like cures like".

http://cms.herbalgram.org/herbalgram/issue66/article2830.html?ts=1588431162&signature=fadb356d021df7df897bd0410eb7dff2

• Megan Venturella
    Megan Venturella Posts: 678 ✭✭✭✭

My whole family has had it a million times. I hate it! So I’m going to state the obvious because it wasn’t obvious to me my first time through this.

First, was with a good soap. Wash your clothing and sheets and towels. Sometimes you don’t realize you’ve been exposed right away. A colloidal oatmeal bath works wonders, and calamine lotion does help.

So does a salve I make every year. It helps with bug bites and psoriasis too. Anything itchy and miserable. It’s just olive oil infused with chamomile, calendula, and comfrey. I thicken it with beeswax and pour it in tins. I always end up giving a lot of it away to desperate itchy people. Let me know if you’d like the exact recipe.