How would you plant a 24ft x18ft garden bed

Homestead Hubby
Homestead Hubby Posts: 40 ✭✭✭
edited November 2020 in Garden Design

Hey friends.

I have inherited a garden bed that is ready to be planted. I am curious how you would break it up and plant. Its my first year with this size and scope. Let me know if you have more questions. Only one corner is locked in as it is 3 rhubarb plants.

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• LaurieLovesLearning
    LaurieLovesLearning Posts: 7,573 admin
    edited May 2020

@Homestead Hubby Are you asking what type of garden plan, as in, what to plant where (design)?

I will be revisiting my plan as I start up my large garden from scratch. My plan included a 3 year rotation. I put a lot of effort into trying to figure out what suited my space. I wanted to try wide row planting (take width) mixed with a block bed (say, 4×6) situation. Not all plants did well with this idea. Peas in particular did not. It was easy to sow, but not easy picking.

I had a walking path down the length. I had beds around the perimeter with a fence to keep the dog out & for climbing plants. I planted in blocks of 4×whatever they were (my "rectangle" gets wider to one end) with paths separating them. I wanted to be able to reach into the middle of each bed. Length wasn't a huge issue. I wanted the paths to be able to accommodate a tiller/push mower. I used sticks & colored twine to mark my beds initially, and brought in old dead slender trees to more permanently mark my spaces through the season. These were removed in fall. I might skip doing the dead tree thing this year. Those were heavy to move and grasses & weeds like those more protected spaces beside the logs.