Knife Skills: The Kitchn lesson one

Comments

• Linda Bittle
    Linda Bittle Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭✭✭

An excellent skill set to develop. I think my mom has one dull knife in her kitchen. I'm no knife expert, but I recall the first time I got to cook with a good quality, sharp knife. It's a whole different ball game!

• MissPatricia
    MissPatricia Posts: 318 ✭✭✭

My mother complained about my dull knives. Now I appreciate sharp knives. They make cutting vegetables, etc. much easier.

• Ruth Ann Reyes
    Ruth Ann Reyes Posts: 577 admin

Ahhh, a good quality sharp knife! Nothing like it!

• Jens the Beekeeper
    Jens the Beekeeper Posts: 651 admin
    edited May 2020

I love sharp knives. Even safer to have sharp knives. Let my children help me cutting and with the sharp knives we never had an accident as they slice without much pressure.

• judsoncarroll4
    judsoncarroll4 Posts: 5,490 admin

The other key point, that few people pay enough attention to, is to make sure the knife fits your hand. I have really big hands... I can easily palm a basketball. So, most knives are not suited to me. An unbalanced knife tires the hand, wrist and arm, and not only makes cooking onerous, but can often lead to injury.

• JodieDownUnder
    JodieDownUnder Posts: 1,483 admin

Knife sharpening is a whole other subject. About 25 years ago I bought a diamond stone at an agricultural field day and I still have it. Keeps my knives sharp, lives in the draw so it's easily accessible, I love it. I've also had the same block a knives for years. Seemed expensive at the time but not really, still like the day I bought them. Also storing them in the timber block upsidedown, keeps the sharp edge longer!

Chopping borads are also important, I use wooden boards, better on the knife edge and natural timber has a degree of antibacterial qualities and occasionally place them in the sun.

Great subject @silvertipgrizz thankyou.

• Torey
    Torey Posts: 5,679 admin