We are currently looking into bee keeping

GardenMama
GardenMama Posts: 95 ✭✭✭
edited November 2020 in Beekeeping

But I'm finding conflicting information about bees swarming.

Some keepers say it's something they try for and it's not common.

Others say it's something you want to avoid.

I'm conflicted since I have no first hand bee experience.

Thoughts? Good trusted resources for Bee Keeping I may have overlooked?

Comments

• judsoncarroll4
    judsoncarroll4 Posts: 5,490 admin

I'm not a bee keeper yet. But, according to what I learned from the Penn State beekeeping program, bees swarm when they need space, are stressed need or a new queen. You can avoid swarming by taking care of your bees well and, if need be, re-queening. When wild bees swarm, you may be able to capture them for your hives.. and that, is a good thing.

• GardenMama

Thanks!!! That makes more sense. I'm guessing the wild swarming would be what the others I've read have been referring to.

• judsoncarroll4
    judsoncarroll4 Posts: 5,490 admin

Probably. They made it look easy in the classes, to capture a swarm.... but, I'd be pretty freaked out to try it with no experience. Once they settle on a limb or something, you put a box underneath and give the limb a sudden shake to knock them off into the box... close the lid and take them home.

• Hassena
    Hassena Posts: 345 ✭✭✭

We just got our bees! They were captured swarms. The captured swarms are supposedly healthier than importing queens . Time will tell. :)

We've had our bees for about 3 months. We check them weekly. Once the brood box is full, we will add another box Hopefully keeping the hive from swarming.

Are there any local bee keeping groups near you? They'd be able to provide first hand experience on pests to look for. What they do to capture a swarm. How they keep their bees from swarming.