Poison Ivy Wash

Desiree
Desiree Posts: 255 ✭✭✭
edited June 2021 in General Health

For the third time in less than 7 days I have managed to bump into poison ivy. My go to has been a commercial Ivy Wash from Technu that contains chemicals I cannot pronounce. I know soap and water works but I carry the wash with me when I am out and about so that I can get the oils off fast. Is there an herbal wash that is stable that I could use instead? What does anyone else do?

Comments

• shepherd-tish
    shepherd-tish Posts: 12 ✭✭✭

Have you tried rubbing alcohol? It is supposed to neutralize the oil. My mother used to put bleach on her skin to kill poison ivy... but I think that's not such a good idea. =:-O I'd try the rubbing alcohol, or maybe apple cider vinegar.

• Torey
    Torey Posts: 5,679 admin

@Desiree A mash of jewelweed applied to the area is considered a go-to remedy for poison ivy by many. I have no experience with it as jewelweed doesn't grow in my area. I would use plantain cause it grows abundantly in my area.

Susun Weed has other suggestions at: http://www.wisewomanmentor.com/wise-woman-ezine/4073704 For her jewlweed spray, if jewelweed doesn't grow in your area, you could substitute something that does such as plantain, yarrow, grindelia or kinnikinnick (this plant is known by many names including uva ursi, bearberry, manzanita. Latin Arctostaphylos uva ursi), based on what you have growing in your area.

You could also try taking the homeopathic remedy Rhus-tox. It is a fairly common remedy and should be available at most health food stores.

• annbeck62
    annbeck62 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭✭

A friend of mine recently got a bad case of poison ivy and he used dawn dishwashing soap and it worked really well. So if you make your own or buy an organic dishwashing soap that is a good degreaser that may be a good portable option to try.

• COWLOVINGIRL
    COWLOVINGIRL Posts: 954 ✭✭✭✭

torey her idea for the poison ivy spray was great! I may have to try that!