Tomato End Rot?

kchiarini
kchiarini Posts: 66 ✭✭✭
edited October 2020 in Pest & Weed Problems/Solutions

I'm new to gardening so I think that's what it's called. I planted 18 San Marzano tomato plants (did I know that if you plant 18 seeds, you get 18 plants? - Call me lucky or dumb!) , and I see a brown circle on the bottom of some of these little green tomatoes.. Within several of them, I see some tomatoes have it, and some don't. And two others, all tomatoes have it. :( I pulled off the brown ones - was that the right thing to do? How can I prevent the others from getting this? Is it contagious? I'm assuming they just stop growing, right, and are inedible?

On another note, due to extremely heavy rain the other day, one plant in a large garbage pail had so much water in it, I had to scoop out a bunch of water. Poor thing looks like it's done! The leaves look super droopy... Is there something I can do to bring it back to life other than not giving it anymore water?

I so welcome and appreciate your advice!

PS Sorry the pic is so big. Not sure how to make it smaller!

Comments

• Torey
    Torey Posts: 5,679 admin

@kchiarini Are there drainage holes in your bucket? If it is sitting on the ground, it might not be able to drain properly. Set the bucket on a couple of bricks to raise it a bit or put it on a bed of gravel to facilitate draining.

Blossom end rot may be caused by inconsistent water, as in too much and then not enough. Too much nitrogen in the soil could be the problem. You should use a fertilizer that is higher in phosphorus. It could also be a lack of calcium. There is a commercial product (probably more than one) that you can use to stop blossom end rot. I read somewhere recently that if you dissolve egg shells in a bit of vinegar and then add a small amount to your watering can, that it would help but I have no experience with that. Yes, pick them off. It will encourage the plant to set more fruit.