Seed Saving DAILY

IrisB
IrisB Posts: 142 ✭✭✭
edited October 2020 in Seed Saving & Fall Prep

CHALLENGE:

Since so many members here are interested in seed saving, why not post daily HERE what seeds you have collected today, found today or plants you are carefully nurturing in order to collect seeds from - to keep us all inspired and motivated. It's so easy to forget our goals in the daily buzy-ness.

I have been saving seeds for more than 25 years. In recent years I admit I have been lazy because it was so easy to buy them. So I just collected the seeds from plants and varieties I was really, really attached to and would be upset if I couldn't get them from a catalogue in the following year.

But like many others I'm making a new effort due to covid 19 and lockdown rules.

TODAY: I cleaned up the glasshouse and found some additional caigua fruit on the floor. The fruit were seconds, so I didn't bother about eating or harvesting for seeds. But today I did pick the seeds out and will test grow them. If they do grow into nice seedlings despite coming from less than optimal fruit, I'll donate the surplus plants to neighbours and schools (we're now out of lockdown and are allowed to share plants now).

Comments

• AngelaOston
    AngelaOston Posts: 249 ✭✭✭

Waiting for my arugula and lettuces to finish. Like to let them go all the way to dry on the stem before pulling.

planted the few pees i had gathered. And some creature came through and thanked me for the dinner. 😎

also saving dandelion seeds. Hard to believe. Had four fout dandelions last year. This year none came up except what i already over wintered in my planter. Believe it or not, read a thing that you can use dandelion flowers, when small, to make something like capers. Also looking forward to roasting the roots, And of course we through a few greens into the daily green mix

• IrisB