How long do you take a herb/supplement for?

I decided to experiment with this over a week ago. I've been making a green smoothie every morning for over 12 months now. The reason I wanted to start with this was after much research, I needed to improve my digestion, mood and overall health. I found a product that I could incorporate into my breakfast smoothie mix to do just that. I also add powdered ashwaganda, astragalus, rhodiola and cinnamon. Last week I traveled to Sydney and decided to leave my "goodies" behind to see what difference it might make.

So I believe I could definitely feel the difference, digestion and especially mood! So when you read, take this for that etc, how long for? I realise that in cold/flu season you can take different herbs for that season but for overall wellness do you stick at it forever? Maybe vary the dose, interchange alternate days with different herbs. Does your body get used to the same old regime and it turns out your wasting money or effort. Or if you generally feel good, then you must be doing something right! Your thoughts please.

Comments

• Jack_Went_Splat
    Jack_Went_Splat Posts: 59 ✭✭✭
    edited October 2020

This is a great question. From my experience, it seems a good idea to vary supplements on and off. One that I use suggested 5 days on and 2 days off or 11 days on and 3 days off to keep your body from responding as if there is an over abundance of one nutrient or another and just dumping it instead of utilizing to the fullest extent. When it comes to herbs, it seems to me the best answer will come from an herbalist and that is not me. :o) Following for answers from an herbalist.

• Torey
    Torey Posts: 5,679 admin