How is your Turmeric patch doing??

SandyMcWhoo?
SandyMcWhoo? Posts: 15 ✭✭✭
edited October 2020 in Growing Medicinals

I wanna know... is there anybody else growing Turmeric? I started a pot early this year with some rhizomes I bought at a local co-op. I stuck them into the dirt and was worried because it took a while to grow. I thought it had rotted... It's growing now!! I have been studying up on the benefits of Turmeric as an anti-inflammatory. I think this will be a great addition to my herb garden. What do you think?

Comments

• Lisa K
    Lisa K Posts: 1,934 ✭✭✭✭✭

I have a container with 3 plants coming up and I have one plant coming up in the shade garden raised-bed. I had one in another raised-bed but when the Ash tree shed it leaves and it got really hot it appears to have died.

• SandyMcWhoo?

oh wow.... I am new to growing Turmeric and I have really high hopes that it will be productive!

• Monek Marie
    Monek Marie Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭✭✭

I grow mine in the house due to my climate. Thye are doing well. I am also growing ginger this fall and winter. I hope its as successful

• SandyMcWhoo?

I will take a picture of mine tomorrow 😀

• Cornelius
    Cornelius Posts: 872 ✭✭✭✭

I tried growing ginger and in the spring it kind of just rotted away a year ago. I will probably try again next spring.

Turmeric medicinally is awesome, but when using it in food a little goes a long way (I learned this the hard way).

• Lisa K

Below are pictures of Turmeric in the pot and in the garden (with some parsley).

• Wendy
    Wendy Posts: 138 ✭✭✭

Is it really that easy to grow Turmeric and Ginger? Mine would probably have to be in a pot in Vermont, but I think I'll try some this winter.

• SandyMcWhoo?

Im pleased with how easy it grew...but i think we need some feeding with the lower yellowness. What do you think?

• kbmbillups1
    kbmbillups1 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭✭✭