What do you use for wheezes?

Owl
Owl Posts: 346 ✭✭✭
edited October 2020 in General Health

My husband’s inhaler expired and his expiratory wheezes are impressive! I have a call in to the doctor but they are definitely going to make him come in before renewing the prescription. Meanwhile, I would LOVE to find something that would allow him to breathe and not require a trip to the pharmacy!

Comments

• stephanie447
    stephanie447 Posts: 404 ✭✭✭

Quercetin, stinging nettles, and turmeric are natural anti-histamines. Reduce high-histamine foods (look online for a list).

• Owl

He takes goldenrod and stinging nettle with good antihistamine effect but I’m thinking more of a bronchodilator maybe. I don’t remember reading of anything but I’m still very new to this.

• karenjanicki
    karenjanicki Posts: 996 ✭✭✭✭

If I remember correctly some use Mullein for asthma. Perhaps smoking it or doing an herbal steam. Double check with @torey. Also I found this article

https://healthwyze.org/reports/313-smoking-to-cure-lung-infections-and-for-good-lung-health

• LaurieLovesLearning
    LaurieLovesLearning Posts: 7,573 admin

Ah...and I have heard of a few things too for asthma. One is an essential oil that you can breathe in. I think Rosealee de la Forêt uses it. I just can't remember. I am so sorry. @torey most likely remembers, and knows about even more things you can try.

• Torey
    Torey Posts: 5,679 admin
    edited October 2020

There are a few things you could try depending on the availability in your area.

Lobelia (Lobelia inflata) is a well known bronchodilator and antispasmodic. Take as a tincture. 7Song has a video as part of his Herbal First Aid course. Video 2 of the Materia Medica section. The discussion can be found at: https://community.thegrownetwork.com/discussion/844864/7songs-herbal-first-aid-course-study-group/p1