Traying Up My Fall Seedlings

greyfurball
greyfurball Posts: 591 ✭✭✭✭
edited October 2020 in Seed Saving & Fall Prep

Has anyone ever tried growing seedlings for Fall under grow lights, a window, or in a greenhouse?

I have never done it before. I always just went the direct seed route in mid-Summer for my Fall varieties. But this morning I decided to give it a try for the types of plants which I know will withstand being transplanted in the garden later next month or early September.

So this morning I started several varieties of lettuce, some spinach, a different variety of kale (than what I already have growing), some snow peas (which I do not think will work but I am going to find out), some more cabbage, carrots and beets plus a few new things which I have never planted before.

If you've ever done it, what was your success/failure rate?

Comments

• JodieDownUnder
    JodieDownUnder Posts: 1,483 admin

@greyfurball I've not done it but am keen to try towards the end of next winter, to get a head start on spring seedlings. This year the slugs have eaten a lot of my seedlings, so I'm keen to start earlier and get them up and growing strong, so they can withstand any attack. Got talking to some people who have done it before and they suggested I try a neon/LED light that stays cool and put it on a timer so that the seedlings get 12hrs of light a day. Which means you only have to extend the daylight hrs by 2 or 3 hrs, that's how I understood it but will ask again to make sure. I guess it depends where you start your seeds.

• VermontCathy
    VermontCathy Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭✭✭

@greyfurball Now that we're well into fall, what was your success rate with the seedlings you started inside under lights during summer and transplanted out?

• Monek Marie
    Monek Marie Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭✭✭

Yes, I do fall and winter sowing.