Suffering from idiopathic neuropathy!

Owl
Owl Posts: 346 ✭✭✭

I have non diabetic neuropathy originating in my torso and extending down my legs to my feet. Because it’s so intrusive I cannot sit down during the day and it either keeps me from falling asleep at night or wakes me up after an hour or so. I’m taking gabapentin but I’m aware that gabapentin also causes neuropathy and it is certainly getting worse.

Tagged:

Comments

• shllnzl
    shllnzl Posts: 1,820 ✭✭✭✭✭

@Owl I'm sorry to hear of your difficulties. I have no knowledge to offer. However, I can speak from personal experience that exercising helped me remove most of my body pains.

Please keep moving if you can in lieu of sitting down. Maybe you will get some relief.

• Monek Marie
    Monek Marie Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭✭✭

My mother and brothers started taking a very high dose of vitamin D3 (5000 units, mg?s) and it has helped immensely. They have all suffer terribly. Moms is basically gone and my brothers much beter

• Owl

Shllnzl, I could not agree more, movement is what makes me able to cope. I garden and run the farm and I’m working on getting back in the gym but I’ve had to put that on hold while I have dry needling for my back and neck.

Denise, I have done the high dose vitamin D in the past, I will try it again. Thanks!

• stephanie447
    stephanie447 Posts: 404 ✭✭✭

5,000 IUs daily are slightly higher than the upper end of safe (4,000 IUs) so that should be fine, but be very careful and don't overdo it. Too much Vitamin D can cause neuropathy (source, one of my neurologists). Too much B6 can cause nerve damage too.

I have neuropathy and I highly recommend getting a near infrared/red LED light pad...seems to have helped me.

Reduce inflammation (take turmeric and other anti-inflammatories). Gotu kola is a good to help nerves. Some people get help with ALA or RLA (alpa-lipoic acid) but you need to start on a low dose and work up. I have yet to try it.