Freeze Dryer information

soeasytocraft
soeasytocraft Posts: 237 ✭✭✭

Here is a link to an ebook explaining why and how to freeze dry foods.

https://www.acrossintl.com/Files/HR_FreezeDryer_StarterGuide.pdf

Comments

• flowerpower *
    flowerpower * Posts: 258 ✭✭✭

I would like to hear what freeze dryers people bought and how much they cost. A community group could also purchase a freeze dryer for the community, say for a growing group. More cooperation required, I know.

• frogvalley
    frogvalley Posts: 675 ✭✭✭✭

I would be interested in a community group purchase of a freeze dryer @flowerpower * . That's something that makes a lot of sense.

• lewis.mary.e
    lewis.mary.e Posts: 225 ✭✭✭

I could Google it, but I'll just ask. How large is a freeze dryer for home use?

• flowerpower *

@lewis.mary.e From @soeasytocraft 's link:

Scroll to the bottom to compare small, medium and large. https://harvestright.com/

• soeasytocraft

I'm very new to freeze drying. Seems those in the groups I've joined are using their own dryers constantly.I know I will be keeping mine going much of the time as well. Makes me think for a community effort a commercial one would make more sense. Have no idea what they cost but a system of figuring our electricity costs would have to be established for sure.

• gardneto76
    gardneto76 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭✭

Hubby just ordered one for me in December, but it will not be delivered for a while yet. I have also joined many different groups to learn as much as I can and get tips on what works well. It does seem people are using them personally a lot more than I thought they would. Does anyone here already own one? If so how do you use yours? If you had one what would you use it for?

We opted for the small since there is only 2 of us. I have wanted one for years, and have always planned to use it to help stop the waste of food in the house. I have added the desire to preserve more FD fruits and vegetables as snacks as well.

• soeasytocraft